Back to members


Conifa world ranking 40


Kiribati (pronounced Kiribas) is an independent republic within the Commonwealth of Nations, located in the central Pacific Ocean, about 4,000 km (about 2,500 mi) southwest of Hawaii. It is part of the division of the Pacific islands that is known as Micronesia.
Kiribati consists of 33 coral islands divided among three island groups: the Gilbert Islands, the Phoenix Islands, and the Line Islands. KIFA is registered and recognised under the “Kiribati Sports Authority Act 1999”. In addition, KIFA is a member of the National Olympic Committee of Kiribati and is recognised by them as the controlling body for football in Kiribati. The Government also recognises the KIFA as the controlling body for football in Kiribati. Kiribati joined CONIFA in May 2016.

Latest News

February 25

Groups announced for first-ever CONIFA World Women’s Football Cup

Sapmi and Northern Cyprus, who played in CONIFA’s first-ever official women’s match in November 2018,...

January 11

2018 London CONIFA World Football Cup Draw Takes Place in Northern Cyprus

Build-up for the 2018 Confederation of Independent Football Associations (CONIFA) World Football Cup continued last week,...

May 09

Five Teams Vying for 2018 World Football Cup “Wild Card” Spot

With a May 2nd deadline for official applications, five CONIFA members successfully submitted the necessary...